Skip to content ↓

Spellbrook C of E Primary School

Learn together, Enjoy together, Succeed together


We follow the National Curriculum of 2014. Due to our mixed age classes we follow a two year plan to ensure all areas of the curriculum are covered. These can be seen below by clicking on the class curriculum links below.

'Letters and Sounds' is the key phonics scheme that we follow, along with other phonics teaching and games.

Our core reading scheme throughout the school is the Pearson 'Bug Club'. With the selection available this can be used from Nursery to Year 6. There are a wide variety of books for the children to read within the scheme and they are often used during guided reading sessions. These books, as well as the books in our school library, are book banded so that the children are able to select from a large range of appropriate level of books.

National Frameworks

National curriculum in England: primary

Early years (under 5s) foundation stage framework (EYFS)

Bishops Stortford Educational Trust